top of page

Injured

I probably talk about BJJ on a daily basis - it bores the hell out of my partner, it interests some and has no relevance to many. That is OK, is that not the joys of life?

Anyway, when I do speak to people looking to start out, there is one thing I always tell them. You're going to get injured, accept it, deal with it and recover CORRECTLY. At this moment in time I'm sporting a Stage II ankle sprain + 2 broken toes. My own initial diagnosis was a broken ankle - it hurt like hell and the swelling was very extensive, I now have a not so swollen ankle but a multicolored foot..... this injury however was not down to BJJ which makes a change. I won't go into detail as to how this injury came about, it will be far to embarrassing. Moving on, I find that most people especially BJJ, grapplers, fighters only ever ask probably 2/3 questions MAX. The 1st being 'how long am I out for' the 2nd possibly being 'will i loose movement/strength' and lastly 3rd but not least 'can I still train with this injury'. Maybe this is the warrior in us, I don't know - but I do know that its ego to an extent (I will write a post about this soon). I'm out for about 4/6 weeks but I'm already planning on going back to training in a week or two - already not taking my own advice (something you will notice I do very regular). But seriously, not hard, just drills and movement. I always feel that even after a week off and I loose some skill - this in fact is not true and in the future I will write about skill fade in a more scientific manner.

There is plenty of tips and advice on how to deal with injuries and many who are more qualified then me (http://thetattooedchimp.blogspot.co.uk/2013/10/injuries.html). However one bit of advice that I have received (although not personally) but certainly freely (EFN Forum, Facebook) is from Simon Hayes who always says 'Tell them you do Judo' and never have I heard a truer word. My Doctor probably thinks I'm a national level Judoka the amount of times I see him (how further from the truth) but it's as close as you're going to get to them understanding what it is you do and helps them visualize how the injury may have occurred.


bottom of page