top of page

Introduction

Well here goes - this is my official 1st post on a Blog. I got the idea from a fellow BJJ practitioner (although one much more advanced on his journey then me - http://thetattooedchimp.blogspot.co.uk)

This isn't a teaching blog and nor should it be (I'm only a Purple Belt) however it will focus on BJJ as well as my current degree in Sports & Exercise Science.

I train over at RGA North Wales, Steve Jones a Brown Belt under Roger Gracie/Nic Gregoriades (http://www.rogergracieacademy.co.uk) and the guys there are quite simply brilliant bods. I've not always trained with RGA - I started my BJJ career at Gracie Barra Preston/Manchester, Lucio 'Lagarto' Rodrigues who needs no introduction. NO I'm not a creonte, I moved from Manchester to mid North Wales a few years back and due to financial constraints and time limits I had to move school.... I did however stay within GB (Gracie Barra). To date pretty much everyone I have met in BJJ has had a positive influence on me. I certainly wouldn't be studying for my BSc if it wasn't for BJJ.

Away from BJJ I am a former Royal Marine having served for over 12 years all together and carry on my commitment to this day through the Royal Marine Reserves (it helps fund me through University too). I am engaged to a great supportive women and have a Son and Daughter. I enjoy other sports inc Football (Chelsea Fan) Rugby (Scarlets fan + Wales) and Golf (Handicap +18).

There will be many topics raised and discussed - I look forward to your input and hope that through this journey I will learn a thing or two and carry on developing not only as a BJJ practitioner but also a person.

Well here goes - this is my official 1st post on a Blog. I got the idea from a fellow BJJ practitioner (although one much more advanced on his journey then me - http://thetattooedchimp.blogspot.co.uk)

This isn't a teaching blog and nor should it be (I'm only a Purple Belt) however it will focus on BJJ as well as my current degree in Sports & Exercise Science.

I train over at RGA North Wales, Steve Jones a Brown Belt under Roger Gracie/Nic Gregoriades (http://www.rogergracieacademy.co.uk) and the guys there are quite simply brilliant bods. I've not always trained with RGA - I started my BJJ career at Gracie Barra Preston/Manchester, Lucio 'Lagarto' Rodrigues who needs no introduction. NO I'm not a creonte, I moved from Manchester to mid North Wales a few years back and due to financial constraints and time limits I had to move school.... I did however stay within GB (Gracie Barra). To date pretty much everyone I have met in BJJ has had a positive influence on me. I certainly wouldn't be studying for my BSc if it wasn't for BJJ.

Away from BJJ I am a former Royal Marine having served for over 12 years all together and carry on my commitment to this day through the Royal Marine Reserves (it helps fund me through University too). I am engaged to a great supportive women and have a Son and Daughter. I enjoy other sports inc Football (Chelsea Fan) Rugby (Scarlets fan + Wales) and Golf (Handicap +18).

There will be many topics raised and discussed - I look forward to your input and hope that through this journey I will learn a thing or two and carry on developing not only as a BJJ practitioner but also a person.


bottom of page