top of page

Shhhh - a quick blog whilst on 'Holiday'

I did promise my wife I wouldn't tweet, watch or write about BJJ whilst away and in all honesty I didn't meet any of her requests. Truth be told I've thought about various techniques etc since being here and believe it or not was even noticed by someone who reads my blogs/tweets (much to my wife's annoyance).

Well this blog was instigated by a blog I read over breakfast (http://www.jiujitsubrotherhood.com/2015/08/its-not-about-how-hard-you-can-roll/) and I felt compelled to write about it. I read a Facebook post by Nic a few weeks back about how he needed much longer to recover from a hard session, further still I recall Sukata saying how he felt 'to old' for this (a mixture of joking and seriousness). What I was drawn too however was Nic talking about muscle memory - how this helped him when under immense pressure. I sat back and smiled, this is the clear difference between a brown/black (and good blue/purple belts) and the mere mortals of us. How often I've been put in a position of danger and 'flapped' made my situation worse and not better. It is said (although not agreed by everyone) the master something it can take 10,000 hours of training. I did a blog sometime ago about psychoneuromusucular theory and I wonder if that counts towards that 10,000 hours (god knows I've spent a few hundred hours thinking of BJJ/Judo).

I've always been a fan of repetitive training, going over a technique again and again to cement it into my muscle memory, and looking back at my military career it takes a long time. I can pick up an array of weapons and strip them and reassemble blindfolded, this clearly is the level I aspire too for my BJJ/Judo. I'm glad I have an instructor that follows such a philosophy and I encourage everyone to adopt such an attitude.

Great blog Nic and a seed well planted -along with a sigh ofempathy that old age gets us all.

P.S. Don't tell the wife I've written this, she thinks I'm sorting out pictures of the holiday 😉

Ooossss


bottom of page