top of page

Brands

So like most things in life - people tend to have their 'go to' brands/Gis and believe it or not I am no exception.

While I would love to won a Shoyoroll Gi it won't happen this side of 2017 due to cost (it's hard being a student you know). But thankfully there are numerous other brands out there that offer just as good a quality (if not better) and at a fraction of the cost.

While I don't want to come across as a nationalist nut job, I do like to keep it British - and the only reason for that is to support the growth of BJJ and Grappling in my own Country. I recall a few years ago, on a well known forum (now closed - unfortunately) a brand making a somwhat explosive entrance - Faixa Rua. I have been somewhat loyal to this brand ever since, owning most of their Gi's and finding them not only excellent value for money, but quite nice in their simplicity.

My next purchase I hope to be this: Thinker Monkey Gi

With me constantly eyeing up some Progress t-shirts

However, it has gone beyone Gi's now and t-shirts, hoodies, jumpers are all the rage. To date I have only ever own two Tatami t-shirts and quite frankly they are the sh*t.

While this blog almost has no purpose, I am always happy to promote any new/up and coming company on this blog (and no I'm not asking for money). Believe it or not (well the old site) was averaging over a hundred views per day (which I'm told is quie good) and I only hope this does the same.

Also, if you know of a company that is providing pretty decent clothing, gear then please share. I am always on the look out for a bargain (as a tight arse student) so would appreciate it.

bottom of page