top of page

Great news for BJJ in the UK

Some months ago (in fact almost a year now) I tried to start a BJJ Society and failed! For one reason or another the athletics committee in my University had no appetite for this 'new' club and it was deemed the current traditional jiu jitsu club was suffice. After some rather passionate conversations I had to walk away with my tail between my legs due to the demands of University and this blog along with clients etc,

Today it was shared via the facebook group UK BJJ Underground that the UKBJJA had set up a British University League with the inaugural competition taking place in Nottingham in 2016 (I will still be a student so will be sure to attend and compete). I imagine for those involved this wasn't an easy task and I applaud all that pursued this and were successful in helping BJJ gain recognition within the UK University audience. Onwards and upwards, who knows - maybe BJJ will be seen in the BUCS calendar sometime soon...

Lastly to further aid this movement please join the following group on facebook - UKBJJA University Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Overground

bottom of page