top of page

Attention to detail....


Last night we were working on a sweep which started from the spider guard. At first the sweep just wasn't working as it was demonstrated, after further clarification hip placement and knee angle was corrected and hey presto the sweep worked a treat!

So last night whilst going over everything in my head I started to realise that I simply don't pay enough attention to detail (the really small detail - the details that make the difference). During my military career it was these details that separated us from the 'poor soldiers' it was even the difference between hitting the target or missing it, BJJ is no different (in fact is anything?).

I've had some exposure to technical and notational analysis and the importance of analysing our own technique can't be ignored. I even recall sayang last night 'its not going well, you have 15kg on me' in fact the truth being at first I was doing it wrong. You'd think as a purple belts and having been training in BJJ on and of since 2006 I'd have learnt by now. But that I suppose is the magic of BJJ we're always learning, not just techniques but our own good/poor habits.

I have even thought of recording my rolls in training and looking at them in detail later on - my own personal notational analysis. The bueaty of this is my partner gets exactly the same too. Food for thought but certainly some thing I may take forward fairly soon.

bottom of page