top of page

After thought from last blog and potential issues with articles for 'novices'

After writing my last blog about terminology I found I got quite a few positive comments! I was discussing my blog with a fellow student yesterday and we are chatting about how many people go to the internet for information – how the internet is in fact saturated with information, but that most of that information is written on the assumption that everyone knows what we are talking about, when in fact I’d argue that that is not the case. When most people want to start training, they search google and start reading the first pages google throws up (rarely mine I might add).

This brings with it a few problems – with the overload of information, especially information we don’t understand, we tend to take that information on board incorrectly. The problem is obviously not the authors, they are simply explaining something that to them is common terminology, but not to average Joe. For me this is a great danger especially when we’re talking about people doing something that could invariably injure them as much as it could improve them.

This by the way is not me saying don't read such blogs - please do! On the whole a lot are VERY informative and contain excellent guidance on a host of things, but if you don't understand it - ask the writter, I'd imagine they would gladly help you out - most people in this industry (especially those I have met) love talking about training methods, principles etc.

My next blog will be about the stretch-shortening cycle that is often referred to in many blogs, posts and articles – especially when we are talking about explosive sports like BJJ. This also flows nicely with my last blog about eccentric, concentric and isometric movements.

Keep an eye out for that and again thanks for the positive (and yes negative) comments. Either one aids my improvement which after all is what it’s all about.

bottom of page