top of page

Periodization

The other week I did a blog about Strength & Power – what the fundamental differences in them are. I was in the process of doing a blog in direct relation to Strength and Power however I feel before that blog is put online I should explain something that I consider to be very important to strength and power training (in fact all training if I’m being honest) – Periodization

I will be lying to you if I said I had a sound knowledge of this before my academic journey began – I imagine (and in fact I did) experience the use of periodization during my time in the military and I’m sure (be it intentional or not) this concept was at the forefront of those creating military style training (physical).

Trying to explain periodization in ‘bro science’ terms hasn’t been easy (and I may have failed myself) but I will try.

There are terms that I associate with periodization and I will share:

Macrocyle – Long term

Mesocycle – Medium term

Microcycle – Short term

The above is explained in the simplest terms – the length can vary depending on your sport and goals. But when/if you come across these terms, that is what invariably they mean.

It is believed and I would say agreed that periodization originated in Eastern Europe, and in essence the definition is that it is a macrocycle (long term) cycle of training that is structured to maximise performance so that it fits in with competitions/important events.

I will try to give an example…. If we are looking to build strength prior to a competition, would you start the program 4 weeks before or 12 weeks before? This is where periodization is important (and why it has been done for some time, but under some other disguise I would have thought).

There are numerous methods of periodization and I believe all can be amended to suit the sport/athlete – while some coaches tend to stick to set formulas, the important factor for me would be the athletes reaction and the cyclic relevance to the sport. In BJJ given the amount of competitions available various forms would suit, but I would look at it like this (and I do this myself).

If you are a beginner (less than 2 years – YES I mean 2 years) to strength and power (and other forms of training) I would start with a traditional periodization model (see Figure 1). There are numerous benefits to this program but it can be broadly applicable to most sports/training – now I’m happy to be stood corrected but this is often referred to as linear periodization also due to the clear linear progression in load (intensity). What I will say to this kind of system is that it allows the beginner/novice to adapt and learn new movements and techniques with limited loads which in time will increase along with technical ability.

So after that relatively long winded blog – the crust of it is this, arrange your training so it has progression to be able to stand on the mat/cage/starting line in peak condition able to offer peak performance.

This I feel will bring me nicely on to my next blog which in fact will start with muscle endurance moving on to Strength and Power eventually (as this is how I train and feel is the best method). I would discourage someone with minimal experience in resistance training jumping into a 5 x 5 system (believe me I’ve made that mistake).

Again constructive criticism is always welcomed as this is a learning curve for me also – and any man/women who thinks they know it all have finished in their careers – progression happens at all times for everyone, once blinded by that – give up.

Hit the gym/mats and enjoy!

Figure 1. Traditional Periodization Model

GP – General preparation, SP – Special preparation, C – Competition, P – Peaking, AR – Active rest

bottom of page