top of page

Sodium Bicarbonate


This is a very quick blog today as I was asked about the above yesterday as a supplement for BJJ.

The answer in my opinion is very easy - if you're competing and/or plan on training for more than 45 minutes (to be safe) stay well clear of this stuff.

Firstly, it's not I repeat NOT baking soda. Secondly this does have positive effects on performance, however the time you have to utilise it is roughly 45 to 60 minutes. You have to ingest it about 90 minutes before you compete (you can get away with 60 minutes before some research suggests) - so you may be thinking, bang I'll take this just before I weight in (assuming that is an hour before first fight, which is common). Well, you're going to have to digest a lot - let me explain 0.3g/kg (0.3 grams per kilogram) so if you weight 100kg you're going to need to digest 30 grams - YES that does say 30 grams - and it doesn't taste great.

It is in essence a lactate buffer (it is far more sciencey than that, but I don't have the time to go into that right now) but most of you will understand that it helps you perform at a higher lactate state (not even sure if that is even the right terminology - sorry) then without it (longer/harder whatever you want to call it).

NOW - the best part, a few hours after taking this 'supplement' (maybe a little less) you will experience a pretty quick evacuation from your bowels... It is this reason alone that this has no place in competitive environments, especially ones that require sometimes multiple fights throughout the day. I certainly wouldn't want to be rolling with you if this happened - you can't control it. You then have the issues of after effects i.e. dehydration etc. If it was a one off fight, maybe you could justify its use – but for me it’s a NO NO. Used to great effect in cycling, rowing but I’m unaware of its use in combat sports at all (I await to be proven wrong).

Hope that answers your question – alternatively look at Beta Alanine!

Footnote: check this site out to see some of the research conducted on Sodium Bicarb

bottom of page