top of page

BJJ - Aerobic or Anaerobic, or both!? Hold on....

There was a blog published the other week which tried to answer this very question – it made some good arguments as to which part of the energy system BJJ leans towards, but I feel the answer simply isn’t that simple.

Firstly the energy system is predominantly broken down into 3 ‘sections’

  • ATP-PCr ( roughly 10s)

  • Anaerobic ( up to 30/40s)

  • Aerobic ( after 30/40s)

This is has been spoken about in depth in earlier blogs – but for the sake of simplicity and to ensure most understand where I am going I will stick with these three more commonly known terms.

All of which have a ‘shelf life’ as noted in seconds in brackets, the graph (which was taken from practicaltriathlon.wordpress.com) shows that all systems work with each other at one point or another - Now the reason I say the answer isn’t that simple is this – it really does depend on how you play your own game… are you an aggressive player who likes to explode continually until you submit your opponent, or do you play a slow methodical approach that guides your opponent into a mistake for you to pounce on?

It is fair to say that a good base of aerobic fitness is essential for all sports – however the same can be said for most can it not? While this blog has started with a question and will no doubt end with a question, the point in case is this – there is no singular answer. I would argue that training all 3 would be beneficial, and I doubt anyone else would say different, but where would you focus, well the answer is simple surely? The weakest one…… I find I get a high percentage of my aerobic exercise from rolling with a good percentage of my anaerobic training being catered for – but not enough (for me) and I certainly don’t utilise my ATP-PCr enough and this is my current focus.

Don’t let anyone tell you there is a simple answer – there isn’t. It is very individual! However having an understanding of what your body is doing and what is required at different times, will allow you to focus your training.

bottom of page